This post will cover two days……

Sorry I didn’t post last night.  I think my body is trying to go into hibernation mode.  Night before last it was in the low 30’s here and last night it was 28.  We woke up this morning to frost on the windshields.  That is way too cold for me this early.  It is only supposed to get colder and I do not know how this southern girl is going to survive the winter here in Kansas.

But enough about that…………

I have been so excited about my books coming in so that I can finally start cooking healthier and cleaner for my family.  Last night for dinner I made the Clean Marinara from Tosca Reno’s book, and it was excellent.  I served mine over whole wheat pasta.  I cooked up some Ragu for my husband and the kids because I wasn’t sure if they would eat the Clea version.  I used Grass Fed Cattle, Ground beef.  Needless to say my husband loved it and wouldn’t touch the Ragu.  He wants me to make up several batches and store it.  Oh and Tosca tells you how to do that in the book…I just love her.  If you would like the recipe and do not have the book, I will be glad to give it to you 🙂

Now, for todays post:

I am not normally a breakfast person.  I love breakfast but I prefer to have it for dinner.  I went to the grocery store yesterday on a mission.  The mission was to get some clean foods to “make” for breakfast.  That’s right, I am gonna make breakfast.  Needless to say, I didn’t get it made for the hubby.  But, oh did I enjoy what I made for myself…..

Recipe (the picture doesn’t look all that tasty, so maybe I will try to get a better one next time).

1 cup of Quaker Old Fashioned Oats

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup 1% Milk

Cooked according to directions on the back.  As I added the Oats I also added 1 Organic Green Apple that I tossed in Cinnamon.  Just enough cinnamon to taste.  I did not drench the apples in the cinnamon.  Sounds bland, right?  That is why I added 2 tsp. of All Natual Vanilla Yogurt.  I did not want to add sugar  but I wanted a sweeter taste.  This oatmeal was amazing.  I loved it and I think you will too. 

Now, for lunch I went out with a friend.  I know, I know, shame on me.  However, I opted for a spinach and tomato enchilada and it was pretty good, refried beans 😦 and spanish rice.  I am pretty sure it was all homemade and not prepackaged though.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it……. 🙂

 

Food for thought.. Did you know that a handful of raw almonds will satsify your hunger?  I didn’t know this until yesterday.  I left the house and forgot to eat, so instead of stopping at Church’s Chicken, which smelled oh so good.  I bought a bag of Raw Almonds and had a handful.  To my surprise my feeling of hunger was gone.  I found out about this in The Eat Clean Diet Book.  Want more details?  Let me know.

 

