Chicken Tortilla Soup (My way)

 

I was in search of a good soup recipe when the weather decided to dip into the 20’s a couple of weeks ago and this is what I found.  There are a couple of options with this soup and I will give you those following the recipe…..Here it is!

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 (10.5 ounce) can condensed chicken broth
  • 1 and 1/4 cup of water
  • 1 cup of whole kernel corn
  • 1 (15 ounce) can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 2 boneless chicken breast halves, cooked and chopped into bite size pieces
  • crushed tortilla chips
  • shredded monterey Jack cheese

1. In a medium stock pot, heat oil over medium heat.  Saute onion and garlic in oil until soft.  Stir in chili powder, oregano, broth and water.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 5-10 minutes.

2. Stir in corn, beans, cilantro, and chicken.  Simmer for 10 minutes.

3. Ladle soup into individual serving bowls and top with cheese and crushed tortilla chips.

  • FYI:  I top my soup with cheese, chips, sour cream, and black olives!

Additional ingredients if wanted:

  • 1(28 oz) can of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup of white hominy
  • 1 (4 oz) can of chopped green chile peppers
  • sliced Avacado (to top)
  • chopped green onions (to top)

I have made the soup with these additional ingredients and without.  My favorite is the recipe above.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I do.  My family also enjoys it.  Especially, on a bitter cold evening.

Tonights dinner:

Cabbage, New Orleans Brats, cornbread, and blackeyed peas ( no not the group ) hehe!

I am starting a new exercise class tomorrow.  It is called Zumba Toning.  I already know that I love Zumba but I have never tried this class and I am very excited.

Have a great day and I will see you tomorrow.

 

 

